• 23,976 MW Highest Ever Conventional Power Capacity Addition in 2015-16
  • 7,108 Villages Electrified in 2015-16 of 18,452 Unelectrified Villages
  • 2.1% Lowest Ever Energy Deficit in 2015-2016
  • 1,28,403 MVA Highest Ever Increase in Sub Station Capacity Over a two Year Period in 2014-15
  • 28,114 CKM Highest Ever Increase In transmission Lines in 2015-16

About Ministry of Power

The Ministry of Power started functioning independently with effect from 2nd July, 1992. Earlier it was known as the Ministry of Energy sources. Electricity is a concurrent subject at Entry 38 in List III of the seventh Schedule of the Constitution of India. The Ministry of Power is primarily responsible for the development of electrical energy in the country.


Narendra Modi
Prime Minister of India


Piyush Goyal

Minister of State (IC) for
Power, Coal, New & Renewable Energy and Mines